National Newspaper Awards Board of Governors welcomes two new members and approves two new award sponsorships

TORONTO, May 11, 2022 /CNW/ – The Board of Governors of the National Newspaper Awards has unanimously approved the appointment of two new members: George Abraham and Andrea Houston.

George Abraham is the founder and publisher of New Canadian Media, a non-profit news portal that showcases immigrant journalism and amplifies the work of journalists from diverse immigrant and ethnic backgrounds. Abraham began his career as a journalist over 35 years ago with The Times of India in Bombayfollowed by appearances in the Khaleej Times in dubai and as editor of The Peninsula in Qatar. He was awarded a Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University.

Andrea Houston is editor-in-chief of Ricochet Media, a multi-platform medium that seeks to shine a light on cultural and political diversity within Canada. A leading advocate for LGBTQ2S+ issues, she served as editor of Torontoist and developed the Queer Media course at from Ryerson University Journalism school. In 2017, Houston was named Model of the Year by the Canadian Center for Gender and Sexual Diversity.

Abraham and Houston serve in two at-large positions as part of a move to bring new voices and perspectives to the 20-member Board of Governors. Three other people have been named in recent months: Dexter Brown of the Canadian Association of Black Journalists, Jason Chiu Canadian Journalists of Color and Veteran Indigenous Journalist Jim Compton.

New board members arrive as the rewards program transitions to new directors. Efficient 1st of July, Bev Wake becomes executive director and Andria Samis becomes program director. Both have worked closely in recent months with Paul Wood and Sharon Hockinwho leave their directorship after five years.

At its spring meeting on May 10, 2022the Board of Directors also approved the nomination of two other awards in honor of eminent personalities linked to the information sector.

the Stuart M.Robertson Award for Breaking News is named in honor of the long-serving secretary-treasurer and legal adviser to the National Newspaper Awards. Although the program dates back to 1949, its current structure was established in 1989. Many of the founding documents of NNA’s “modern” incarnation were written and signed by Stuart, who was passionate about the program’s mission to honor from Canada better journalism. He died in March at the age of 74.

the Stuart M.Robertson The Breaking News Prize will be sponsored by Lauraine and Paul Woodswho both worked closely with Stuart in the administration and management of the awards program.

The Beat Reporting award will be named after Joan Hollobon. As the Globe and Mail’s medical reporter from 1959 to 1985, Joan set the standard for reporting. She developed an expertise that enabled her to tackle breaking news, investigative pieces and explanatory articles with equal ease, and earned the (sometimes reluctant) respect of doctors, scientists and politicians as she was covering. As one of the first women on the medical beat, she also paved the way for generations to follow. Joan is 102 years old, lives in Toronto and recently received the Order of Canada.

the Joan Hollobon The Beat Reporting award will be sponsored by his longtime employer, The Globe and Mail.

The Beat Reporting Award was previously named after E. Cora Hind. Beginning in the 2022 competition year, the local reporting award will be named after Hind, one of the first women to work as a journalist in Canada. She was also instrumental in the suffrage movement and a strong advocate for women’s suffrage.

Eight other awards are also named after prominent figures in the news industry. They are:

  • George Brown Prize for Surveys (sponsored by The Globe and Mail)

  • John Wesley Dafoe Politics Award (Sponsored by Ron Stern)

  • John Honderich Project of the Year Award (Sponsored by the Honderich Family)

  • Bob Levin Short Film Award (Sponsored by The Globe and Mail)

  • Claude Ryan Editorial Writing Award (Sponsored by the Ryan Family)

  • Mary Ann Shadd Cary Column prices

  • William Southam Feature Film Award (Sponsored by Fisher, Bowen and Balfour families)

  • Norman Webster International Reporting Award (Sponsored by the Webster Family)

Other prize sponsorship opportunities remain available. We will consider all submissions for sponsored prizes named after prominent journalists. To find out about the program, contact us at the coordinates below.

National SOURCE Newspaper Awards


Show original content: